Home > Horse Racing > Betting Reviews > Racing Consultants Review

Racing Consultants Review

Check This Product Out Now

Download The Spreadsheet I Made In The Video Here

**UPDATE**

I received this email from Gordon the other day, and he’s given permission for me to publish it here:

With out even looking at your video about Racing Consultants I know from using them since last July how good they are. I started using them after seeing the results on the Racing Advisor which is another service which I trust to tell me a honest report.

About Michael Wilding

Michael started the Race Advisor in 2009 to help punters improve their betting profits and think outside the box with their betting strategies. To date he has written over 450 articles on the site and recently started UK Racing News which has become a leading news site for horse racing in the UK and IRE. Check out my personal blog or my Google+

Check Also

Desert Drought or Flood?

We’ve been doing some pre-Christmas housekeeping here on the Race Advisor. Part of that housekeeping …

25 comments

  1. Hi Michael

    Another excellent informative review. It was very interesting to see how to best use your proofing page to dig down into the important figures for a service. The videos also add the chance to learn visually a big plus. The length of the video was also about right, our minds tend to drift on the 20 min mark. Many thanks

  2. Yes, another great review. For me personally, a bit too long, but that’s probably because of the volume of stuff I need to get through in a day for my website. I think it is an excellent guide into how to get the best of the Race Advisor proofing service (rather than a review of Racing Consultants per se). I am just completing a guide on choosing a tipster (which I will be offering as a website sign-up freebie) and I have already identified Race Advisor as probably the best site for comparing tipsters but I will need to do a bit of editing having discovered a few more features that I hadn’t realised were there!

    • Thank you very much. I was concerned it was a bit too long, I only realised how long it was after I finished recording it. Pleased to hear that it helped you in writing your guide as well!

  3. this review does not mention if these tips were from handicaps or stakes races ? and what percentage from each ?

  4. Does anyone know how obtainable the advised odds are or do they disappear as soon as released?
    Thanks

    • Hi John, in our experience the advised odds were readily available when the tip was published. However odds at the time of the morning can move quite quickly so availability will depend a bit on how available you are to place bets when they’re sent.

  5. Hi Michael,

    A very informative video. I do use your proofing stats regularly, but I’ve certainly picked up some useful ideas on how to dig down to analyise things in more greater detail.

    20 mins is probably the optimum length for a video. Keep ’em coming!!

    thanks

    Ian

  6. david rawcliffe

    how can you give a good review to a service that showed no profit for a full 6 month period even when measured by the most favorable parameter, of results to advised bets

    • Thank you for the comment David, and a very good question. The monthly profits using all bet types to advised odds and stakes has been:

      Sep 2014 +59
      Oct 2014 -29
      Nov 2014 +25
      Dec 2014 +10
      Jan 2015 -10
      Feb 2015 +11
      Mar 2015 -26
      Apr 2015 +44
      May 2015 +73

      Please note I’ve rounded all these figures down so they may be slightly off the actual totals published on the proofing. When you look at the results in this way, which you can also do from the proofing page, you can see that the performance has been strong. If you had happened to join in January then you wouldn’t have made a profit until April, but a three month downswing is not uncommon for any type of betting. This is well within variance. That’s one of the reasons I always say you shouldn’t follow selections for anything less than three months and ideally you should commit to six months or more. Unfortunately this variance is part of betting and you have no way of knowing where in a swing you may be joining. If you happen to join at the beginning of an upswing then you’ve been lucky 🙂

      During the downswing the tipster was continually beating SP, which showed that the selections continued to be value. This means even though they were getting unlucky and kept missing out on the win, mathematically it has to come back into profit.

      I hope that clears this up.

  7. Cleared up apparently Michael 🙂

    Thanks again for a very informative video appraisal, and I too believe the 20 mins was spot on.

    Cheers

  8. Hi Michael
    May I ask how you a question not directly related to Racing Consultants. How did you get the results in to your spreadsheet? Did you download from The Racing Advisor site?
    I have had limited success when doing this for longer timescales than just the last 30 days. Although the download for Racing Consultants for “all time” does work, in my experience it does not work for most tipsters, although invariably the 30 day ones do. I’ve started by having the “all time” results displayed, but the download invariably resorts to 30 days. Is there another step I need to take to get the all time results download?
    Thanks
    Paul

    • I actually pulled the data directly from the database in this example. Please could you point me to a tipster where you’re having this issue and I’ll look into the issue?

  9. Thanks for reply, Michael. Looks like a case of egg-in-face. When I went to repeat the download for the tipster I was interested in, it correctly downloaded All time. However, I am sure it has happened to me before, so I will contact you again should the problem arise in a future instance.
    Sorry to have troubled you.
    Paul

  10. david rawcliffe

    Hi Michael

    I don’t understand why the profit figures don’t tally with your graph of profits to advised prices, which

    shows a running profit of + 50 pts at mid September 2014 and the profit is still below that level at about + 40 pts in April 2015

  11. david rawcliffe

    which would actually be an 8 month losing period

  12. Thanks for the message David. Are you sure you have the settings set to Advised Odds and Stakes? End of April rolling profit is showing as 81.93 on the 30th April.

  13. Hi

    Is there a link to an up to date spreadsheet for the “before racing system”??

    Many thanks

    James

  14. Hi Michael

    Sorry….my question is with regards to Midas Method 3. Didn’t realize i was on this page!!!

    • Haha, no problem. I haven’t continued to use it since I did the walk-through but if you contact their support I’m sure they’ll be able to provide you with the details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *