Tips

Royal Ascot – Day Five Preview

(Last Updated On: June 20, 2015)

So today sees the final day of the Royal meeting and there is again a wealth of top class racing to get your teeth into.

Yesterday was a shade disappointing for me on the betting front as although I came out of the day just a shade down thanks to Future Empire running in to a place in the last I didn’t feel that I bet intelligently and missed a couple that perhaps I should have backed and certainly had a reasonable bet on one that perhaps should have been tempered slightly!

In the opener yesterday I backed Laxfield Road who was the system top rated horse and one that I was more hopeful than confident in! She ran no sort of racing setting off far too quickly trying to make all and faded tamely entering the final furlong. On hindsight I probably shouldn’t have backed her but the winner was possibly a good thing as when I replayed some of the week’s earlier races there was an interview with Richard Hannon who basically in a roundabout way said that Illuminate wouldn’t get beaten which indeed was the case winning the race very nicely indeed and looking a class horse.

I didn’t have a bet in the King Edward V11 Stakes but the top rated Ole Man River finished a poor fourth so perhaps needs to lower his standards before he gets his head in front again.
Again I didn’t have a bet in the Commonwealth Cup and was glad that I didn’t as I wouldn’t have backed Muharrar who won such a competitive race with consummate ease.

In the Coronation Stakes there was nothing that I really fancied to back but was looking to lay Found if the price was right. In the end I didn’t have the lay bet but perhaps I should as even at 13/8 I think Found was far too short a price and was there to be laid! That said I would have been sweating if I did have the lay bet as she was only beaten a neck on the line!

I was really disappointed with the run of Igdier in the Duke of Edinburgh who was never involved and was well beaten. I had a reasonable each way bet on him but on hindsight should have lowered my stake as although top rated he probably didn’t warrant the confidence I had in him and the price I took 7/1 early doors was too short to what my tissue said I should be looking for, a mistake on my part.

The finale the Queen’s Vase was won by Aloft who was system top rated but as mentioned above I actually backed Future Empire each way in the race at 16/1 and this got me out jail for the day.
So for today’s ratings.

Date Time Meeting Horse Odds (Dec) Odds (Frac)
20/06/2015 14:30 ASCOT TONKINESE 5.33 4/1
20/06/2015 14:30 ASCOT BALLYDOYLE 6.34 5/1
20/06/2015 15:05 ASCOT MAHSOOB 7.23 6/1
20/06/2015 15:05 ASCOT SENNOCKIAN STAR 9.32 8/1
20/06/2015 15:40 ASCOT TELESCOPE 3.40 7/4
20/06/2015 15:40 ASCOT POSTPONED 5.53 9/2
20/06/2015 16:20 ASCOT BRAZEN BEAU 6.38 5/1
20/06/2015 16:20 ASCOT MUSTAJEEB 6.89 11/2
20/06/2015 17:00 ASCOT TATLISU 14.98 10/1
20/06/2015 17:00 ASCOT RUWAIYAN 17.39 16/1
20/06/2015 17:35 ASCOT WICKLOW BRAVE 5.53 9/2
20/06/2015 17:35 ASCOT MARZOCCO 8.10 7/1

I am going to leave the opener alone as there is not a lot of form to go on and the unraced Gosden / Godolphin trained Cymric could be anything especially as they have pitched in him here, could this be a tip in itself?

The unbeaten colt Mahsoob gets the top system racing in the Wolferton but is plenty short enough at around the 2/1 mark so I am going to have an each way on the second rated Sennockian Star who is 16/1 with William Hills which looks extremely good value.

I can’t see Telescope getting beaten in the Hardwicke Stakes and the 7/4 with Hills again as I write this looks about right so I am going to have an investment on him here at that price
Brazen Beau gets the top rating in the Diamond Jubilee but looks a little short at 7/2 so I am siding with the inform team of O’Brien and Moore and backing Due Diligence who gets a good rating, will be a strip fitter for his comeback run and will find the distance and conditions today more to his liking and at 8/1 looks the value bet in the race.

How I love the Wokingham and have been quite successful in the race over the years. Of course it is a very competitive race where many can be given some sort of chance but I am going to back a couple each way in this and stick with the system top two rated Tatlisu and Ruwaiyan who are both available at prices bigger than my market suggest they should be.

So to the final race at Royal Ascot this year and Wicklow Brave is a short priced favourite for this, he gets my top system rating but is not one for me to back and I will therefore look elsewhere for a bit of value possibly Marzocco or Rawaki but it is a race that I have no real opinion in so couldn’t put up a selection in the race.

I hope like me you have like me enjoyed the Ascot meeting and have been successful with your investments and that today things will get even better, good luck!

Selections
15.05 Sennockian Star 1 point each way
15.40 Telescope 2 points win
16.20 Due Diligence 1 point each way
17.00 Tatlisu 1 point each way
17.00 Ruwaiyan 1 point each way

Race Advisor

The Race Advisor is one of the leading blogs on betting in the UK. Our goal is to help you generate more profit from your betting than you’re currently doing. With thousands of blog posts and some of the leading horse racing analysis software out there, if you’ve got a question about betting then we’re here to make sure you get the right answer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
Close