Tips

Royal Ascot – Day Three Preview

(Last Updated On: June 18, 2015)

With day two of the Royal meeting now done and dusted it is time to reflect on my days, investments and a look at how the system and the ratings performed.

Looking at the opener the Jersey Stakes and little return here for me courtesy of Fadhayill who ran a great race to finish second and may well have got up to win this in couple more strides. Ivawood who was top system rated ran no sort of race whatsoever and finished well beaten and perhaps as indicated in my write up yesterday morning I should have looked to lay him as he was a terrible price far to short! Unfortunately however I didn’t lay him but can’t be too disappointed with the outcome although I wish the winning post had been another 50 yards or so further.

I liked the chances of Besharah in the Queen Mary and backed her accordingly but can have no complaints as the winner Acapulco was far too good on the day and we were beaten by a better horse.
The 3.40 the Duke of Cambridge and Integral was the top rated selection but what an awful price 8/11 where did that come from? I had no option but to have a cheap lay here as I indicated I might and I was counting my winnings two furlongs out, lovely!

I didn’t have a bet in the Prince of Wales Stakes but the system ratings gave the first and second home albeit in the wrong order although I thought the Great Gatsby was a shade unlucky in running and may well have won this if he had not of been squeezed up when beginning to make his challenge.
I don’t know whether to laugh or cry with the result of the Royal Hunt Cup, I backed Chil The Kite each way at 16/1 and collected after he finished a gallant third but unusually for me I failed to back the top rated system selection GM Hopkins who duly obliged winning at an SP of 8/1, I am sure there is a moral in this somewhere!

In the last I was sweet on Always Smile but unfortunately got touched off on the line by the Richard Hannon trained Osaila. Always Smile was hanging quite badly left in the final furlong and this obviously contributed somewhat to her downfall so I feel that perhaps she was a shade unlucky loser here but you have to take the rough with the smooth I’m afraid so no pick up for me in the finale. The system however did select the first two home (in the incorrect order, just) but the ratings seem to be working quite well and I am relatively happy with outcome thus far.

So overall another profit shown on the day which can’t be sneezed at but can’t help but feel that I was a shade unlucky and hit the goalposts, still tomorrow is another day so in to battle we go for day, 3 bring it on!

18/06/2015 14:30 ASCOT KING OF ROOKS 5.04 4/1
18/06/2015 14:30 ASCOT LOG OUT ISLAND 6.21 5/1
18/06/2015 15:05 ASCOT TIME TEST 7.64 13/2
18/06/2015 15:05 ASCOT PEACOCK 8.76 15/2
18/06/2015 15:40 ASCOT PLEASCACH 4.18 3/1
18/06/2015 15:40 ASCOT CURVY 6.12 5/1
18/06/2015 16:20 ASCOT FORGOTTEN RULES 5.58 9/2
18/06/2015 16:20 ASCOT MIZZOU 7.51 13/2
18/06/2015 17:00 ASCOT SAHAAFY 11.70 10/1
18/06/2015 17:00 ASCOT MUTARAKEZ 15.39 14/1
18/06/2015 17:35 ASCOT DISSOLUTION 7.30 6/1
18/06/2015 17:35 ASCOT YORKIDDING 10.43 9/1

I am not going to have a wager in the opener as I think King Of Rooks is more than likely going to win this but is plenty short enough so a watching brief for me here.

Time Test gets top rating in the 3.05 but again doesn’t really look to be great value so I will again observe from the side-lines in this.

The Ribblesdale Stakes sees the Irish Guineas winner Pleascach enter the fray she gets the top rating but is another who looks to be plenty short enough especially as there is no guarantee that she will stay this trip, so I am going to lay the favourite and also have a small each way wager on my second rated Curvy who looks to be the value here.

Nothing really stands out in the Gold Cup but the ratings have it between Forgotten Rules and Mizzou so as more of an interest bet I may just have a reverse forecast on the pair.

Like the Royal Hunt Cup yesterday another competitive race with a big field over the mile and I am not going to make the same mistake as I did yesterday and am going to have my money on the top rated Sahaafy. 10/1 is what I am looking for and I can get that so have secured an each way investment at the price and am also going to have a small punt each way Azraff who gets a good system rating is blinkered for the first time today and shouldn’t be the 28/1 that he is currently with William Hill.

In the lucky last I am going to have an each way on Yorkidding who gets a good system rating and who also looks to be well overpriced at 20/1. Mark Johnston horses are notoriously tough and we know that she gets the distance which is a bonus whereas most of the other runners go in to unknown territory with regard to trip so I am hopeful that she will run a big race and land a place at the very least!

Selections
15.40 Ascot – Lay Pleascach
15.40 Ascot- Curvey 1 point each way
17.00 Ascot – Sahaafy 1 point each way
17.00 Ascot – Azraff 0.5 point each way
17.35 Ascot -Yorkidding

Race Advisor

The Race Advisor is one of the leading blogs on betting in the UK. Our goal is to help you generate more profit from your betting than you’re currently doing. With thousands of blog posts and some of the leading horse racing analysis software out there, if you’ve got a question about betting then we’re here to make sure you get the right answer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
Close