Tips

Royal Ascot – Day Two Preview

(Last Updated On: June 17, 2015)

So with day one of the Royal meeting now well and truly over it’s time to take a look at the results and how the system performed. Starting with the opener and the ratings couldn’t split the two unbeaten animals Able Friend and Solow and it was the latter that came out well on top here with Able Friend trailing in a disappointing and well beaten sixth. I didn’t have a bet in the race as I felt it was too tight to call and there was no real value in the two fancies so although I could have backed the winner I wasn’t unhappy with being a spectator here.

In the Coventry the winner Burratino won the race really well and is a likeable sort and is one definitely to follow, I did however back Air Force Blue each way for a return but am annoyed with myself that I didn’t lay Round Two as in my comments yesterday on the race I felt that he was far too short a price and was there to take on, a mistake on my part I feel!

In the King Stand my selection Meccas Angel was an absentee due to the ground and the top rated system selection Sole Power finished a creditable fifth without ever really getting in the race. I certainly however couldn’t have backed Sole Power at the returned SP which was an awful price (one to lay) but on the flip side of that I would not have backed Goldream or Medicean Man either. So no damage done here with my stake returned for my each way investment on Meccas Angel.

Gleneagles won the St.Jame’s Palace Stakes with the ease that the price suggested he would and is out of the top drawer, he was clear top system rated but I never back a horse at odds on so there was no bet for me. I do however wish that sometimes I would bend a little on this rule of mine of not betting odds on as on hindsight the 4/6 available yesterday morning was a great price a licence to buy money.

Disappointed is all I can say about the two I backed in the Ascot Stakes, Shwaiman barely got a mention and was never involved whilst Boite attempted to run the race out of his rivals but clearly went off to fast and faded tamely in the closing stages. I backed both of the selections each way to relatively small stakes but felt for differing reasons that I never really had a run for my money hence my disappointment.

On to the finale and my top rated selection Washington DC won holding on by a diminishing neck with my other fancy Soapy Aitken finishing a creditable fourth. Concerns about the draw were unfounded and although I couldn’t get the price I was looking to achieve for my selections I did have a small dutch on them for a minor stake to show a small profit on the race.

Overall day one was nothing great to write home about but I am in front so it was by no means a disaster and with more great races to come hopefully things will get better as the week progresses starting here with my ratings for day two.

Date Time Meeting Horse Odds (Dec) Odds (Frac)
17/06/2015 14:30 ASCOT IVAWOOD 7.28 6/1
17/06/2015 14:30 ASCOT FADHAYYIL 9.18 8/1
17/06/2015 15:05 ASCOT BESHARAH 8.83 15/2
17/06/2015 15:05 ASCOT EASTON ANGEL 11.55 10/1
17/06/2015 15:40 ASCOT INTEGRAL 3.93 11/4
17/06/2015 15:40 ASCOT EURO CHARLINE 5.14 4/1
17/06/2015 16:20 ASCOT THE GREY GATSBY 5.05 4/1
17/06/2015 16:20 ASCOT FREE EAGLE 5.94 9/2
17/06/2015 17:00 ASCOT GM HOPKINS 13.53 12/1
17/06/2015 17:00 ASCOT AYAAR 16.50 14/1
17/06/2015 17:35 ASCOT ALWAYS SMILE 5.98 9/2
17/06/2015 17:35 ASCOT OSAILA 12.99 10/1

So starting with the opener the 2.30 Ivawood gets my top rating and is the obvious selection but I am not interested in the slightest at the price on offer and may even look to lay him at those odds, so instead I will be having a small each way on Fadhayyil who hopefully will show some further improvement and come on from his reappearance.

I like the unbeaten William Haggas filly Beserah in the Queen Mary; she has a lot more on her plate here but has won both her previous starts in eye taking fashion and gets my vote here.

Integral gets top rating in the Duke of Cambridge and may well be a good thing but again the price on offer for him looks far too short in my book and I am severely tempted to lay him if odds on!
The Prince of Wales has an open look about it as my rating suggests , the likely favourite Free Eagle is certainly a player in this but I feel he may need the run so slight preference here is for The Grey Gatsby although it is not a race I would want to be heavily involved in.

One of my favourite races at the meeting the Royal Hunt Cup and as usual this is a wide open affair, and any number of these have some sort of chance. The ratings give GM Hopkins as top rated with Ayaar a close second rated. However unusually for me I am going to bypass these system selections and side with another well rated horse Chil The Kite who finished second in this last and hopefully can go one better today. He needs a bit of luck in running as a come from behind performer but his recent reappearance would I feel put him spot on for this and hopefully he will be finishing to good effect and can take the top prize here.

Finally the Sandringham and Always Smile gets the clear top rating and looks to be a good thing based upon her score. I know I won’t get the 9/2 that my market prices suggest I should be looking for but I can’t look any further than her so the 11/4 with best odds guaranteed is the bet to have and I have just secured this with my biggest bet of the meeting so far with Bet 365.

Selections
2.30 Ascot Fadhayyil – 1 point each way
3.05 Ascot Beserah – 1 point win
5.00 Ascot Chil The Kite – 1 point each way
5.35 Ascot Always Smile – 2 points win

Race Advisor

The Race Advisor is one of the leading blogs on betting in the UK. Our goal is to help you generate more profit from your betting than you’re currently doing. With thousands of blog posts and some of the leading horse racing analysis software out there, if you’ve got a question about betting then we’re here to make sure you get the right answer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
Close